2013

It has been a long, long time since I last posted, but today is the last day of 2013 and even if I haven’t posted anything for 4 months, today did seem like it did deserve a post.

It has been quite a bit of a roller coaster, but I’m just going to recount some of the many blessings that happened this year because this was a year of many wonderful, great things happening, beautiful things falling into place whenever I needed them to. I may not have deserved all of it, but I guess that just makes me even more grateful and thankful for everything.

January

Taught me a lot of perseverance.
This was a month filled with calling up preschools and childcare centres in the hope of finding one that would support my final year project research. Of the 80+ schools that I called, only 8-10 took the time to listen to my pleas, and of those, only 1 finally agreed. It was also weeks spent with my family (breakfasts in and out with my mom, grandma and baby brother every few days) and in church with the youth cats. And the frantic filling up of scholarship application forms, receiving acceptance letters to some of the UK universities I’d applied to and basically being happy with the company of adventure time and birthday celebrations.

February

Probably the most tiring month this year.
Finishing up my final year project, writing reports and doing presentations and making edits until 3am in the morning; living on coffee and finding out the terrible ways my body reacts to redbull through firsthand experiences. Also the last few weeks of being in poly, with all the farewells and feeling time just fall past our fingers, never to be held again. This was also my first household for the year, where I got my blessings jar (yay!) and went back to yfc.

March

Art, art.. art?
March was the completion of my portable sleuthing kit, and also other Illustrator related adventures. I spent a lot of time with people I hadn’t seen for awhile – it was finally the long awaited break after finishing the last day of school after 3 whole years.

April

was beautiful.
I went for the International Leaders Conference (ILC) in Manila, and it was so amazing; a total blessing and beautiful experience of God. This was a month of experiencing God’s love in such a very extremely real way… I also worked as a wardrobe assistant for a TV show (it was not the best experience, but I did learn quite a bit). I ordered a lot of books, and sewed a lot of stuff, made a lot of things, and went for a gazillion exhibitions.

May

brought a shower of unexpected blessings.
I got into YNC (which I had found out about only in April) and it was totally unexpected and never part of the plan. I made so many new friends, explored a lot of pretty/cute/fab cafes and bookstores, did something special for Mother’s Day with my baby brother, baked a lumpy space princess rainbow cake!, went for all the different schools’ art/graduation shows, and also explored different parts of Singapore. May was also the month of my graduation and I wrote a letter to every single person in my class (+ a few others).

June

spelt e-x-c-i-t-e-m-e-n-t.
I couldn’t wait to move into the residential college for school and for school to start. I finished my job as a wardrobe assistant and spent my time eating good food, baking bunny shaped cookies, reading up on useless information, having sleepovers and feeling damn badass for battling the haze. I took a ferry with my family to Batam for the first time, and went for several camps, a friend’s debut, and pinkdot.

July

was like a dream come true.
School finally started, and we had orientation. I made new friends, and those same friends are still my best friends and (spoiler!) one of them is my boyfriend. Most of July, though, was spent in the US of the A – my first (and probably only) trip there. It was the best three weeks ever!!! I went to Mystic, Boston, Salem, New York and spent the rest of the time in Yale University in New Haven. I visited so many cool places and museums (MoMA, MET, Yale Uni Art Gallery, etc), took a walk in Central Park, ate pizza bigger than my body. I spent so much time doing so many amazing cool things with the best people ever and it was just. Really gr8.

August

the start of something new…
We visited the UN headquarters and met Ban Ki Moon, and then school started proper. It was overwhelming but fun and so different from anything I’d ever done before. Also, dorm life. A mixture of homesickness and spontaneous fun doing the most of random of things! I also went for the Color Run which was one of the coolest “marathons” ever, and.. sushi feast for my birthday (heck yeah).

September

was full of joy.
I got to be a bridesmaid for my cousin’s wedding (tick off the bucketlist!), and then E asked me to be his girlfriend officially and it was the happiest moment ever (I’m grinning to myself as I type this hehe). First dates, walks and whispering secrets in the middle of the night. I also spent a lot of time savouring homecooked and homebaked food and eating a lot of icecream yum yum. And oh, so many people came to visit me in my temporary home bearing gifts and food :D

October

made me a temporary hipster.
We had our Week 7 special activity/project thingy, and mine was about modern art and the meaning of life and identity and it was quite fun to pretend to be a pretentious hipster and be all like, like. I started painting my nails again too, and I spent a lot of time eating and meeting people (not eating the people).

November

was full of tiny surprises.
I got a lot of cute stuff from my angel in school, and it was a constantly uplifting feeling to come back to my room and find someone had left me stuff outside my door :’). I also got surprises from many other people and a lot of them told me to let myself be loved – I guess I never realised how much I shut myself in a tower and refuse to let people in. I also went for the Singapore Art Book Fair and it was so freaking lovely.

December

not anywhere near the end.
I moved back home for the holidays and spent most of my time trying to rest in between going out and going for camps and making/buying christmas presents. I went for a DIY pancake buffet by chance, had a 2am pizza party, dressed up as Aristotle’s wife and later the little mermaid, walked down Orchard Road to see the Christmas lightup, explored Tiong Bahru and went cafe hopping, baked cookies and cheesecake with my mom for Christmas and played a lot of lame computer games.

2013 has been good to me and I have all that I need – my family, friends and E.

#TYL

PS I’m sorry for the lack of pictures, but if I went to look for them I would never be able to post this before midnight. :p

leave a little love

